• Posted by Savage
  • Posted in WHC 2010
  • Posted : September 15th, 2009

The World Horror Convention 2010 and The Horror Writers Association are proud to announce that, for the first time in their twenty-three year history, the HWA’s prestigious annual Bram Stoker Awards for excellence in horror and fantasy fiction will be presented outside North America at the convention in Brighton, England.

The ceremony will be held on the evening of Saturday, March 27 at the famous Palm Court fish-and-chips restaurant situated right at the heart of the historic Brighton Pier , with magnificent views of the coastline and out to sea. This event will be one of the highlights of the convention, and will include World Horror Guests of Honour and past Stoker Award winners as award presenters.

The meal will consist of a gala traditional Fish-and-Chips Banquet (or Vegetarian option) costing £32.00 (approximately US$51.00) per person. TICKETS FOR THE AWARDS BANQUET ARE STRICTLY LIMITED AND ARE SOLD ON A FIRST-COME BASIS. They are available to all HWA members, Bram Stoker Award nominees, and anyone with a registered membership for World Horror Convention 2010. Any HWA member or 2010 Stoker nominee who only wants to pay to attend the Banquet can do so, although they will not 20be allowed into any other convention events without a full membership.

Nominees for the 2010 Bram Stoker Awards can only be voted on by members of the Horror Writers Association and will be announced early in the new year. The HWA also bestows a yearly Lifetime Achievement Award in acknowledgement of superior achievement over a career. Previous winners of the Lifetime Achievement Award include Fritz Leiber, R. Chetwynd-Hayes, Ray Bradbury, Robert Bloch, Richard Matheson, Christopher Lee, Harlan Ellison, Ira Levin, Ramsey Campbell, Charles L. Grant, Stephen King, Anne Rice and F. Paul Wilson.

The annual World Horror Convention Grand Master Award will also be presented at the Awards Banquet of the Saturday evening. The 2009 winner, Tanith Lee, is a Guest of Honour at World Horror Convention 2010 and will be in attendance with previous Grand Master Award winners Brian Lumley, Ramsey Campbell and F. Paul Wilson.

A menu and PayPal booking form are now available on the World Horror Convention 2010 website (www.whc2010.org). Tables for 10 people can be reserved with payment.

THE HORROR WRITERS ASSOCIATION (HWA) is a world-wide organisation of writers and publishing professionals dedicated to promoting dark literature and the interests of those who write it. HWA= 0was formed in the late 1980s with the help of many of the field’s greats, including Dean Koontz, Robert McCammon, and Joe R. Lansdale. Today, with members all around the globe, it is the oldest and most respected professional organisation devoted to the genre.

The World Horror Convention

The World Horror Convention (WHC) is an annual literary-based event for the horror industry, centered around authors, publishers, editors, artists and others related to the creation and production of scary books. The next WHC will be held in Provo, UT on April 28-May 1, 2016.

Visit the Official 2016 WHC Website HERE.

Subscribe via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.