• Posted by Savage
  • Posted in WHC 2010
  • Posted : June 15th, 2009

The World Horror Convention 2010 and The Horror Writers Association are proud to announce that, for the first time in their twenty-three year history, the HWA’s prestigious annual Bram Stoker Awards for excellence in horror and fantasy fiction will be presented outside North America at the convention in Brighton, England.

The Bram Stoker Awards ceremony will take place at a gala banquet on the evening of Saturday, March 27. This event will be one of the highlights of the convention, and will include past Stoker Award winners as award presenters.

Tickets for the Awards Banquet are strictly limited and will be sold on a first-come, first-served basis. They will be available to both HWA members and anyone with a registered membership for World Horror Convention 2010. Any HWA member who only wants to pay to attend the Banquet can do so, although they will not be allowed into any other convention events without a full membership. Information about how tickets may be purchased will be appearing soon on both the HWA and WHC websites. The annual WHC Grand Master Award will also be presented at the Award Banquet of the Saturday evening.

Once again organised by HWA’s Stoker Co-ordinators John R. Little and Lisa Morton, nominees for the 2010 HWA Bram Stoker Awards will be announced early in the new year. The Horror Writers Association also bestows a yearly Lifetime Achievement Award in acknowledgement of superior achievement over a career. Previous winners of the Lifetime Achievement Award include Stephen King and Anne Rice. One of the two most recent Lifetime Achievement Award recipients, F. Paul Wilson, attended the 2009 Awards presentation in Los Angeles and is set to be one of the many horror celebrities also attending the 2010 event in the U.K.

THE HORROR WRITERS ASSOCIATION (HWA) is a world-wide organisation of writers and publishing professionals dedicated to promoting dark literature and the interests of those who write it. HWA was formed in the late 1980s with the help of many of the field’s greats, including Dean Koontz, Robert McCammon, and Joe R. Lansdale. Today, with members all around the globe, it is the oldest and most respected professional organisation devoted to the genre.

The World Horror Convention

The World Horror Convention (WHC) is an annual literary-based event for the horror industry, centered around authors, publishers, editors, artists and others related to the creation and production of scary books. The next WHC will be held in Provo, UT on April 28-May 1, 2016.

Visit the Official 2016 WHC Website HERE.

Subscribe via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.